The physician’s paradox

the physician's paradox

When I decided to become a physician I was keen only on that title and profession that suit my ambitious character and passionate nature. As time passed over and over I am aware now that I was and had to choose a way of opposites. Such opposites may contrast extremely in real and fancy and in action and the proposals, and – at the same time – they may reflect an example of an honest and working counter mix with fine thinking and naïve reflection.

I don’t see yet the value of wearing eye glasses as some may have advised. I should not argue that my sight is as sharp as that of a teenager but really I am still can do without. Eye burns and scratching could come from time to time for some kinds of stress and I don’t like to overestimate such temporary complaints. Wearing eye glasses is sometimes fashionable or stylish but I am still stuck to my early days of fabric independence. I do not succumb to the must-study seasons and the sleepless nights but like to run, swim and shape muscles. And though I am deeply not a dress model, it can happen to become a one when the situation dictates it. By the same way, I am not such all-in-one person but when it is needed it can come to many things; interpreter, writer, poet, painter, etc.

The very serious themes of the medical care among the house corridors, noises of wheel chairs and smell of antiseptics and the different wounds could hardly capture my fancy as a streaming sailor or a floating sky diver. I believe in Shakespeare, appreciate Newton and admire Einstein. Being a qualified physician I am supposed to be a scientist too. I know I am neither hindering death nor helping it. Death is a destiny and I try to bring about a fortune of health and wisdom. But do not then wonder if I am a physician or a priest.

I am so simple that I care about every detail and decide for the one that touches my genuine defects.

Leave a Reply

